You are now leaving the Turn2us site. Turn2us is not responsible for content on third party sites.

Universal Credit (UC) timetable - Universal Credit (UC) roll-out 2017

The rolling out of the full digital service of Universal Credit to all areas of the country was completed on 12 December 2018 for new claims or for people having to make a new claim due to a change of circumstance. This guides provides information on the next stages and gives you information on the stages that have been completed.

Universal Credit (UC) roll-out 2017

Full Digital Service Areas

From 12 December 2018, the Universal Credit full digital service will have been rolled out to all postcode areas of the UK. 

Full digital service areas have replaced  live service areas. The live service areas stopped taking new claims for Universal Credit on 31 December 2017. Claimants already on Universal Credit in a live service area will continue to receive Universal Credit and will be transferred onto the full digital service when their area goes digital. 

If you are on the existing system and your situation stays the same, you won't have to move to Universal Credit just yet.. The government plans to start transferring people who are still on existing benefits or tax credits onto Universal Credit from July 2019. This process is known as managed migration. The Secretary of State has announced that they will begin by transferring around 10,000 people in 2019 as part of a pilot scheme. They won’t start moving people over to Universal Credit in great numbers until the pilot scheme has been completed and assessed. They plan to complete this process by December 2023. 

Before April 2017

Before April 2017, anyone in a full digital service area who was working age could start a claim for Universal Credit. From April 2017 to December 2018, working age claimants can only start a claim for Universal Credit in a full digital area if there are less than three children in their family. 

This is a list of the Job Centre areas which became full digital service areas for Universal Credit each month in 2017. 

February 2017

Corby, Newcastle East, Poplar, Southampton and Warrington

March 2017

City Tower, Dalkeith, Hinckley, Newcastle West and Penicuik

From April 2017 onwards

From April 2017 to December 2018, anyone in a full digital service area who is working age can start a claim for Universal Credit, as long as they don't have three or more children. Anyone with three or more children who is already on Universal Credit will stay on Universal Credit, rather than be transferred to other benefits or tax credits.

Below we list when a job centre starts to take claims under the full digital service.  Some job centres will phase in their full digital service, and won't be including all their postcodes immediately.  To find out if you live in a full digital service area enter your postcode on the Universal Credit Info website.

April 2017

Flint, Mold, Oldham,Shotton and Yeovil

May 2017

Bedford, Burnley, Chippenham, Dover, Ilkeston and Long Eaton

June 2017

Alloa, Brighouse, Halifax, Salisbury, Stirling, Todmorden and Weston-Super-Mare

July 2017

Altrincham, Barnsley, Bexhill, Chelmsley Wood, Cheshire East Crewe, Chester, Clevedon, Cwmbran, Devizes, Dingwall, Dudley, Eastleigh, Fort William, Goldthorpe, Halesowen, Harlow, Invergordon, Margate, Pontypool, Portree, Ramsgate, Solihull, Southend, Stourbridge, Stretford, Trowbridge, Wick, Wombwell, York Monkgate

September 2017

Universal Credit full service roll-out starts in Northern Ireland on 27 September in the Limavady Jobcentre area only. It will be gradually rolled out to other Northern Ireland Jobs and Benefits Offices from November 2017 onwards.

October 2017

Abingdon, Acton, Alexandra Park, Barnet, Barton, Beccles, Bedworth, Blandford, Bootle, Braintree, Bury St Edmunds, Cambuslang, Chorlton, Crosby, Cumnock, Didcot, Didsbury, Doncaster, East Kilbride, Eastbourne, Edgware, Finchley, Gateshead, Grantham, Grays, Hamilton, Haverhill, Hendon, Hove, Kilmarnock, Lanark, Longsight, Mexborough, Neath, Nuneaton, Oxford, Peterlee, Plymouth, Poole, Port Talbot, Redditch, Rusholme, Rutherglen, Scunthorpe, Seaham, Southall, Southport, Stamford, Stroud, Sudbury, Thorne, Witham, Wrexham

November 2017

Arbroath, Banbury, Basildon, Birkenhead, Birmingham Broad St, Birmingham City, Birmingham South West, Blaydon, Bournemouth, Brentwood, Brighton, Bromborough, Chesterfield, Cinderford, Cirencester, Coleford, Devonport, Dewsbury, Dundee, Enfield, Forfar, Hoylake, Huddersfield, Irvine, Kilbirnie, Lichfield, Montrose, Newport, Newton Heath, Openshaw, Peterborough, Saltcoats, Spen Valley, St Albans, Sutton Coldfield, Tamworth, Upton, Waltham Cross, Washwood Heath, Winsford, Witney, Yardley.  In Northern Ireland; Ballymoney

December 2017

Bilston, Bishop Auckland, Bude, Bridport, Cheltenham, Consett, Cowdenbeath, Crook, Cupar, Dunfermline, Ellesmere Port, Erdington, Glenrothes, Gorseinon, Grimsby, Handsworth, Hatfield, Immingham, Kings Heath, Kirkcaldy, Launceston, Leven, Liskeard, Mitcham, Morriston, Neston, Newbury, Northwich, Ormskirk, Perry Barr, Reading, Retford, Selly Oak, Sheerness, Sittingbourne, Skelmersdale, Sparkhill, St Andrews, Stanley, Stockwell, Streatham, Swansea, Tewkesbury, Watford, Weymouth, Wolverhampton Chapel Court, Wolverhampton Molineaux House, Worksop.  In Northern Ireland: Magherafelt and Coleraine.


Updated January 2019


Anything wrong with this page?

Tell us the problem

Please enter your name
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter what you were doing
Please enter what you'd like to report
Please enter the security code shown

Thank you

If you would like to tell us more please visit our contact page