You are now leaving the Turn2us site. Turn2us is not responsible for content on third party sites.

Universal Credit (UC) timetable - Universal Credit (UC) roll-out 2017

Find out more about the Universal Credit timetable.

Universal Credit (UC) roll-out 2017

Full Digital Service Areas

Universal Credit is being rolled out in full digital service areas.

Full digital service areas are gradually replacing live service areas. Claimants on Universal Credit in a live service area will be transferred onto the full digital service when their area goes digital. 

The government expects the national roll-out of the full digital service to be completed by September 2018. The government plans to start transferring people who are still on existing benefits or tax credits onto Universal Credit from July 2019. They plan to complete this process by March 2022. 

Before April 2017

Before April 2017, anyone in a full digital service area who was working age could start a claim for Universal Credit. From April 2017 to November 2018, working age claimants can only start a claim for Universal Credit in a full digital area if there are less than three children in their family. 

This is a list of the jobcentre areas which became full digital service areas for Universal Credit each month. 

February 2017

Corby, Newcastle East, Poplar, Southampton and Warrington

March 2017

City Tower, Dalkeith, Hinckley, Newcastle West and Penicuik

From April 2017 onwards

From April 2017 to November 2018, anyone in a full digital service area who is working age can start a claim for Universal Credit, as long as they don't have three or more children. Anyone with three or more children who is already on Universal Credit will stay on Universal Credit, rather than be transferred to other benefits or tax credits.

This is a list of the jobcentre areas which are becoming full digital service areas for Universal Credit each month. 

April 2017

Flint, Mold, Oldham,Shotton and Yeovil

May 2017

Bedford, Burnley, Chippenham, Dover, Ilkeston and Long Eaton

June 2017

Alloa, Brighouse, Halifax, Salisbury, Stirling, Todmorden and Weston-Super-Mare

July 2017

Altrincham, Barnsley, Bexhill, Chelmsley Wood, Cheshire East Crewe, Chester, Clevedon, Cwmbran, Devizes, Dingwall, Dudley, Eastleigh, Fort William, Goldthorpe, Halesowen, Harlow, Invergordon, Margate, Pontypool, Portree, Ramsgate, Solihull, Southend, Stourbridge, Stretford, Trowbridge, Wick, Wombwell, York Monkgate

September 2017

Universal Credit full service roll-out starts in Northern Ireland on 27 September in the Limavady Jobcentre area only. It will be gradually rolled out to other Northern Ireland Jobs and Benefits Offices from November 2017 onwards.

October 2017

Abingdon, Acton, Alexandra Park, Barnet, Barton, Beccles, Bedworth, Blandford, Bootle, Braintree, Bury St Edmunds, Cambuslang, Chorlton, Crosby, Cumnock, Didcot, Didsbury, Doncaster, East Kilbride, Eastbourne, Edgware, Finchley, Gateshead, Grantham, Grays, Hamilton, Haverhill, Hendon, Hove, Kilmarnock, Lanark, Longsight, Mexborough, Neath, Nuneaton, Oxford, Peterlee, Plymouth, Poole, Port Talbot, Redditch, Rusholme, Rutherglen, Scunthorpe, Seaham, Southall, Southport, Stamford, Stroud, Sudbury, Thorne, Witham, Wrexham

November 2017

Arbroath, Banbury, Basildon, Birkenhead, Birmingham Broad St, Birmingham City, Birmingham South West, Bournemouth, Brentwood, Brighton, Bromborough, Chesterfield, Cinderford, Cirencester, Coleford, Devonport, Dewsbury, Dundee, Edmonton, Enfield, Forfar, Gateshead, Hoylake, Huddersfield, Irvine, Kilbirnie, Kirklees, Leytonstone, Lichfield, Manchester Town Hall outreach, Montrose, Newport, Newton Heath, Openshaw, Palmers Green, Peterborough, Saltcoats, Spen Valley, St Albans, Sutton Coldfield, Tamworth, Upton, Wallasey, Waltham Cross, Walthamstow, Washwood Heath, Winton, Witney, Yardley.  In Northern Ireland; Ballymoney

December 2017

Barking, Bishop Auckland, Brixton, Bude, Cheltenham, Consett, Cowdenbeath, Crook, Cupar, Dagenham, Dunfermline, Ealing, Ellesmere Port, Erdington, Glenrothes, Grimsby, Handsworth, Immingham, Kings Heath, Kirkcaldy, Launceston, Leven, Liskeard, Mitcham, Morriston, Neston, Northwich, Perry Barr, Reading, Retford, Selly Oak, Sittingbourne, Skelmersdale, Sparkhill, St Andrews, Stanley, Stockwell, Swansea, Winsford, Wolverhampton Chapel Court, Wolverhampton Molineaux House, Worksop.  In Northern Ireland: Magherafelt and Coleraine.


Updated September 2017


Anything wrong with this page?

Tell us the problem

Please enter your name
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter what you were doing
Please enter what you'd like to report
Please enter the security code shown

Thank you

If you would like to tell us more please visit our contact page


Search for a grant

Look for funds that might be able to give you a grant and/or other types of help.

Use the Grants Search tool